[coffee containers & my baby’s butt]

This is the most genius idea and it will only take 5-10 minutes of your time! Unfortunately, I cannot take complete credit for this. You can find the original “recipe” here. I wasn’t entirely happy with the results, so I tweaked it a bit. My version is below. You can follow the step by step with photos, or just skip to the bottom for the condensed version. Enjoy!

You will need:

    • 1 Roll of BOUNTY paper towels
    • 1 Tbs. Coconut Oil
    • 1 1/2 – 2 Cups HOT Water
    • 1/2 Tbs. of Your Favorite Baby wash
    • A Mug
    • A Sharp Knife
    • A Container for your wipes

bw1

Okay, so Step 1, cut the roll of paper towels in half, so you end up with two short rolls of paper towels. I find it’s easier if you kind of smash the roll a bit to make it thinner. Also, I use my hand dandy Cutco for this.

bw2

Next, pull the cardboard roll out of the middle. You could have pulled it out first, but I find it is easier to pull out after you’ve cut the roll in half.

bw3

Whew, okay that was the hard part. Now, get a mug and dump in 1 ½ to 2 cups hot water. I don’t like super moist wipes, so I usually do 1 ½ cups. Also, I just use water from my tap, but if you are super particular, go ahead and use filtered water. Add in 1 tbs coconut oil and 1/2 tbs baby wash.

bw4

Swirl it around until everything is mixed. If your water isn’t warm enough, the coconut oil will solidify; if that happens, you can always put in the microwave for 30 seconds.

bw5

Alrighty, almost done! Pour the mixture into the bottom of whatever container you are using. I actually use old Folgers coffee containers because I can get them for free. They aren’t cute, but they are certainly functional.

bw6

Another option would be an old round wipe container. Dollar tree also has round containers, but you have to smush the roll a little to fit it in there.

bw7

Last step! Place one of your short paper towel rolls in the container, put the lid on, and wait at least 1 hour.

bw8

You did it! Don’t you feel so thrifty and accomplished?

Homemade Baby Wipes:

   Ingredients:

    • 1 Roll of BOUNTY Paper Towels
    • 1 TBS Coconut Oil
    • 1 ½ to 2 Cups Hot Water
    • Your Favorite Baby Wash

   Supplies:

    • A Sharp Knife
    • A Container for your wipes
    • Mug for mixing the liquids
    • Measuring cups/spoons

Step 1: Using a sharp knife, cut the paper towel roll in half. Then pull out the cardboard tube in the middle.

Step 2: In the mug, combine 1 ½ to 2 cups hot water, 1 tbs Coconut oil, & 1/2 tbs baby wash.

Step 3: Pour mixture into your container, then place one paper towel roll half in the container.

Cover with the lid & wait 1 hour.

Step 4: Wipe your baby’s butt & feel happy knowing you saved money & are keeping your baby’s skin safe!

***EDIT: I have since attempted making these wipes with the “Select A Size” type of Bounty. My thought was, of course, that I could get twice as many wipes for the same price. While this is technically the case, the wipes end up being a square rather than a rectangle and I usually have to use two anyway (so not much money saved).

Also, at this point I make the wipes with water and coconut oil only (mostly because I’m lazy and I have these things in my kitchen) and they work just fine. I switched to cloth diapers a few months ago and use these wipes exclusively. Happy wiping!

***EDIT 2: Just a note on traveling. The best way I have found to travel with these wipes is to rip off a bunch of individual wipes and carry them in some sort of tupperware-type container. I’ve used old greek yogurt containers (the big ones) and old parmesan cheese containers (I clean them first of course).

2 thoughts on “[coffee containers & my baby’s butt]

  1. Thank you for linking to the site. I love that you used a coffee can, which is the perfect size and something you repurposed! And I like your black container the coffee can sits in. Cute! I’m so glad you were able to make the recipe work for you! Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

